Jump to content

Glynneath

From Encyc
Edward Street

Glynneath is a town on the River Neath in South Wales. Historically it was in Glamorgan and today it is part of Neath Port Talbot county borough.

The name comes from the Welsh word "glyn" (valley) and refers to the valley of the River Neath. The origins of Neath (Nedd in Welsh) are obscure. In Welsh the place name is spelt Glyn-nedd and in English it was historically spelt Glyn Neath.

Coal mining first came to the area in 1793. Before then it was a tiny village focused on farming. Historically Aberpergwm House was a prominent building in the region and its ruins still remain today.[1]

Neath Canal was built in 1775 and ran through the town. The canal has since been replaced by a railway which was closed in 1965 but some features still remain.[1]

St Cadoc's Church was originally a 17th century chapel of ease for Cadoxton-juxta-Neath. It was rebuilt in 1808-9 and extended in 1836-41.[2]

As a civil parish it was formerly called Neath Higher until its name was changed to Glynneath in 1974, at the same time all civil parishes in Wales became communities.[3] The community also includes the nearby villages of Pontwalby and Pentreclwydau. As of 2011 it had a population of 4,278.

In sport, like much of the South Wales Valleys, it is a strong rugby union area. It has long-standing clubs in both rugby union and football.